forgot password / new user


Standardisation of School Year

Circular 0009/2017 (pdf, 499 kb)
Standardisation of the School Year in respect of Primary & Post-Primary Schools for the years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/20
February 2017

School Year 2017/18

  • October 2017 mid-term break

All schools will close from Monday 30th October 2017 to Friday 3rd November 2017 inclusive.

  • Christmas 2017

All schools will close on Friday 22nd December 2017, which will be the final day of the school term. All schools will re-open on Monday 8th January 2018.

  • February 2018 mid-term break

All  primary  schools  will  close  on Thursday 15th February 2018 and Friday 16th February 2018. (Primary schools may use 3 discretionary days to extend this break to an alternative option of a 5 day break for the period from Monday 12th February 2018 to  Friday 16thFebruary  2018 inclusive  unless  changes  are  required  as  part  of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.) Post - primary  schools  will  close  from Monday 12th February  2018 to  Friday 16th February 2018 inclusive   unless   changes   are   required   as   part   of   contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.  Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of  the  February  mid-term  break  by  remaining  open  up  to  and  including Wednesday 14th February 2018.

  • Easter 2018

All schools will close on Friday 23rd March 2018, which will be the final day of the school term, unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures. Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the Easter break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 28th March 2018. All schools will re-open on Monday 9th April 2018. 

School Year 2018/19

  • October 2018 mid-term break

All schools will close from Monday 29th October 2018 to Friday 2nd November 2018 inclusive.

  • Christmas 2018

All schools will close on Friday 21st December 2018, which will be the final day of the school term. All schools will re-open on Monday 7th January 2019. February 2019 mid-term break. All  primary  schools  will  close  on
Thursday 21stFebruary 2019 and Friday 22nd February 2019. (Primary schools may use 3 discretionary days to extend this break to an alternative option of a 5 day break for the period from Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019 inclusive  unless  changes  are  required  as  part  of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures.) Post- primary schools will  close from Monday 18th February  2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019 inclusive unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures. Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of  the  February  mid-term break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 20th February 2019.

  • Easter 2019

All  schools  will  close  on Friday 12th April 2019 which  will  be  the  final  day  of  the school term, unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures. Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the Easter break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 17th April 2019.  All schools will re-open on Monday 29th April 2019.