Storm Barra – School closures in certain counties to continue tomorrow

The Department of Education has this evening advised schools in the following counties to remain closed tomorrow:

  • Dublin 
  • Donegal
  • Sligo
  • Leitrim
  • Cork
  • Kerry
  • Waterford
  • Limerick
  • Clare
  • Galway
  • Mayo
  • Wexford

These counties are currently or are forecast to be designated as red or orange alert areas tomorrow.

Schools in counties not included in the list above are advised to reopen, provided school management teams have had an opportunity to survey the area for any hazards. If an individual school in a yellow alert area is still experiencing a local issued related to Storm Barra, the Board of Management can make a decision to remain closed tomorrow.

Any substitute teacher contracted to work tomorrow in a school which is closed will be paid.

Members are advised to check in with news and weather bulletins for further updates.