Standardisation of School Year

Circular 0005/2020 (PDF)
Standardisation of the School Year in respect of Primary & Post-Primary Schools for the years 2020/21, 2021/22 and 2022/23

School Year 2020/21

October 2020 mid-term break
All schools will close from Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October 2020 inclusive.

Christmas 2020
All schools will close on Tuesday 22 December 2020, which will be the final day of the school term. All schools will re-open on Wednesday 6 January 2021.

February 2021 mid-term break
All primary schools will be closed for February mid-term break on Thursday 18 February and Friday 19 February 2021.

Primary schools may use three discretionary days to extend this break, i,n order to take a five day break from Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2021 inclusive, unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures. Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the February mid-term break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 17 February 2021.

Easter 2021
All schools will close on Friday 26 March 2021, which will be the final day of the school term, unless changes are required as part of contingency arrangements to make up for time lost due to unforeseen school closures. Where contingency arrangements are required a school authority may reduce the length of the Easter break by remaining open up to and including Wednesday 31 March 2021. All schools will re-open on Monday 12 April 2021.

Still have questions?

Submit your query by email to INTO. Please include your payroll or membership number.