INTO Principals’ and Deputy Principals’ Fora

Note: This page was updated in July 2023

The INTO Principals’ and Deputy Principals’ Fora were established in 1994 to ensure that principal teachers’ views and concerns had a clear focus within the Organisation. The Special Rules Congress in June 2004 established the Principals’ and Deputy Principals’ Fora under Rule 66 of the INTO Rules and Constitution (2019).

Fora were established by Districts and currently there are 40 Fora (see below) in operation. The Fora afford principals and deputy principals the opportunity to express and exchange views within the aims and objectives of the Organisation, on matters which have a direct relevance to their role as leaders of school communities and the operation of the school in the interest of all members.

Meetings generally take place during the months of February, March and November and details of local fora meetings can be found in the Events section of the INTO website. You can find out which Forum you belong to by logging in to the Members portal of the INTO website, and checking My Details. Alternatively, your local Principals’ and Deputy Principals’ Committee representative would be able to identify the principals’ forum to which you belong and when meetings take place.

Details of members of the Principals’ and Deputy Principals’ Committee can be found in the INTO members’ diary by clicking the tab on the School Leadership webpage.

View the PDC Committee list for 2023-2026

We encourage all principals and deputy principals to attend their fora and participate in the discussion and debate. The fora are an important part of the structures of the INTO and provide an opportunity for principals and deputy principals at local level to have their voices and views heard in relation to INTO policy. The PDC members who attend the fora report back from the fora to their meetings, and the discussions that take place inform the views of the PDC.

List of Fora as of July 2023

District              Fora Name

03                           Inishowen

03                           Donegal South West

03                           Bluestack Fora

03                           County Leitrim

04                           Mayo

04                           Sligo

05                           Drogheda

05                           Cavan

05                           Monaghan

05                           Dundalk/Ardee

06                           Roscommon

06                           Galway

06                           Tuam

06                           South East Galway

07                           Westmeath

07                           Meath

07                           Longford

07                           Offaly

07                           Kildare

08                           Dublin South County

08                           Tallaght/Blessington

08                           Cualann/Wicklow

09                           District IX forum

10                           Wexford

10                           Kilkenny

10                           Carlow/West Wicklow

10                           Laois

11                           Tipperary South

11                           Tipperary North

11                           Waterford

11                           Clare

12                           Cork City

12                           West Cork

13                           North Kerry

13                           South Kerry

13                           West Limerick

13                           East Limerick

14                           District 14 forum

15                           District 15 forum

16                           District 16 forum

Still have questions?

Submit your query by email to INTO. Please include your payroll or membership number.